Created in Christ unto Good Works

Ephesians_2-10

The other day I posting on Facebook and a friend who is a Pastor in Georgia posted a photo of a man with the following text:

This is my friend. He is calling me, daily. He is sick. He is cold. He wants to come and be part of THE BRIDGE family. You know that CAMPER that is sitting IDLE in that yard? I need it! Donate it or sell it to me at a reasonable price. I will come get it next week anywhere in the Southeast U.S. and sit and sup with you. Private message me if you have a lead.

I found the conversation that followed very interesting, as it was suggested that God would provide for this man; that God tells us to ask Him for what we need, not man. When I suggested that we, as the body of Christ, are to act on God’s behalf, to be His hands and His feet, indicating that trailers do not just fall from the sky, I was reminded of “the manna” and accuse of being one “of little faith”.

That made me think of Jam 2:14-16:

What doth it profit, my brethren, though a man say he hath faith, and have not works? can faith save him? If a brother or sister be naked, and destitute of daily food, And one of you say unto them, Depart in peace, be ye warmed and filled; notwithstanding ye give them not those things which are needful to the body; what doth it profit?

So I was going to do a little study on faith (which I am accused of lacking) and works (which I suggested those proclaiming to be of the body of Christ should be doing “in His stead”, as “the result of” their faith and “evidence for” their salvation). But then I remembered a study I already had, done by my good friend and study partner, Kim (whose studies I have posted before). No need to “reinvent the wheel”, so I thought I would just share one of her studies, as she shared it some time back on a forum when the subject of “works” came up.

Let me just say, first, that when it comes to the subject of “works” there are some who will claim that any mention of doing “good works” is a sign that one believes that they will be “saved by” their “good works”. But that is not the case at all. It is not a matter of trying to “earn” salvation, it is a matter of bearing the fruits of the spirit that is the evidence of ones salvation. It is about obedience to the Lord. It is about the fact that “we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus unto good works, which God hath before ordained that we should walk in them.” (Eph 2:10)

So, in that vain, I wanted to share this study. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did (and still do). I also hope you don’t mind the colors; I like the way they make certain words stand out so I am leaving them as they are.

Im not sure if I posted this in this particular forum or another I forget half the time, but here are some verses I have sought out to put in order concerning works

There appears to be dead works and what is called “every good work” we are created in Christ unto.

Here in works they deny him (though still profess to know him) so in word they profess him but in works deny him here….

Titus 1:16 They profess that they know God; but in works they deny him, being abominable, and disobedient, and unto every good work reprobate.

Repentance from what is called “dead works

Heb 6:1 Therefore leaving the principles of the doctrine of Christ, let us go on unto perfection; not laying again the foundation of repentance from dead works, and of faith toward God,

Though he appears to desire a people zealous of “good works”

Titus 2:14 Who gave himself for us, that he might redeem us from all iniquity, and purify unto himself a peculiar people, zealous of good works.

And we are created in Him unto “good works”

Ephes 2:10 For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus unto good works, which God hath before ordained that we should walk in them.

Knowing…

Ephes 6:8 Knowing that whatsoever good thing any man doeth, the same shall he receive of the Lord, whether he be bond or free.

And also knowing…

Col 3:25 But he that doeth wrong shall receive for the wrong which he hath done: and there is no respect of persons.

Rich in good works here speaks to laying up in store for oneself a good foundation AGAINST the time to come as it pertains to eternal life

1 Tirus 6:18-19 That they do good, that they be rich in good works, ready to distribute, willing to communicate. Laying up in store for themselves a good foundation against the time to come, that they may lay hold on eternal life.

1Cr 2:29 If ye know that he is righteous, ye know that every one that doeth righteousness is born of him.

1John 3:7 Little children, let no man deceive you: he that doeth righteousness is righteous, even as he is righteous.

The children of God are manifest in this…

1John 3:10 In this the children of God are manifest, and the children of the devil: whosoever doeth not righteousness is not of God, neither he that loveth not his brother.

Saying we love God in word verses deed

1John 4:20 If a man say, I love God, and hateth his brother, he is a liar: for he that loveth not his brother whom he hath seen, how can he love God whom he hath not seen?

James 2:15-16 If a brother or sister be naked, and destitute of daily food, And one of you say unto them, Depart in peace, be ye warmed and filled; notwithstanding ye give them not those things which are needful to the body; what doth it profit?

1John 3:17 But whoso hath this world’s good, and seeth his brother have need, and shutteth up his bowels of compassion from him, how dwelleth the love of God in him?

Loving in word or tongue verses in deed and truth here

1John 3:18 My little children, let us not love in word, neither in tongue; but in deed and in truth.

He will render to us as well

Romans 2:6 Who will render to every man according to his deeds:

Jesus says…

Mat 7:21 Not every one that saith unto me, Lord, Lord, shall enter into the kingdom of heaven; but he that doeth the will of my Father which is in heaven.

1Peter 2:15 For so is the will of God, that with well doing ye may put to silence the ignorance of foolish men: (the foolish hear the word but do not do it)

In well doing these seek for this…

Romans 2:7 To them who by patient continuance in well doing seek for glory and honour and immortality, eternal life

So we shouldnt be weary in well doing because we shall reap

Gal 6:9And let us not be weary in well doing: for in due season we shall reap, if we faint not.

1John 2:27 And this is the promise that he hath promised us, even eternal life.

Well doing and following every good work (loving one another in deed and in truth)

Mat 25:34 Then shall the King say unto them on his right hand, Come, ye blessed of my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world: For I was an hungred, and ye gave me meat: I was thirsty, and ye gave me drink: I was a stranger, and ye took me in: Naked, and ye clothed me: I was sick, and ye visited me: I was in prison, and ye came unto me.

Those that did not (the things above) it says…

Mat 25:46 And these shall go away into everlasting punishment:but (those that did the above) “the righteousinto life eternal.

Laying up a good foundation for “the time to come” perhaps (as it pertains to eternal life?)

Which appears to further clarify what James is speaking of…

James 2:14 What doth it profit, my brethren, though a man say he hath faith, and have not works? can faith save him?

Saying “Lord Lord”??

Mat 25:43 I was a stranger, and ye took me not in: naked, and ye clothed me not: sick, and in prison, and ye visited me not.

Which resounds again here

Titus 1:16 They profess that they know God; but in works they deny him, being abominable, and disobedient, and unto every good work reprobate.

Luke 6:46 And why call ye me, Lord, Lord, and do not the things which I say?

Titus 2:7 In all things shewing thyself a pattern of good works: in doctrine shewing uncorruptness, gravity, sincerity,

2Cr 2:17 For we are not as many, which corrupt the word of God: but as of sincerity, but as of God, in the sight of God speak we in Christ.

Gal 5:6 For in Jesus Christ neither circumcision availeth any thing, nor uncircumcision; but faith which worketh by love.

1John 3:18 My little children, let us not love in word, neither in tongue; but in deed and in truth

Heb 10:24 And let us consider one another to provoke unto love and to good works

Titus 3:8 This is a faithful saying, and these things I will that thou affirm constantly, that they which have believed in God might be careful to maintain good works. These things are good and profitable unto men.

Every good work… (as it pertains to “the pattern of” good works in Titus 2:7) even here as it pertains to the caring for the widow who has also followed every good work (her life declaring the same pattern)

1Titus 5:10 Well reported of for good works; if she have brought up children, if she have lodged strangers (Mat 25:38) if she have washed the saints’ feet (John 13:14 ) if she have relieved the afflicted, if she have diligently followed every good work.

Ephes 4:1 I therefore, the prisoner of the Lord, beseech you that ye walk worthy of the vocation wherewith ye are called,

John 13:17 If ye know these things, happy (blessed) are ye if ye do them.

James 1:25 But whoso looketh into the perfect law of liberty, and continueth therein, he being not a forgetful hearer, but a doer of the work, this man shall be blessed in his deed.

2Cr 9:8 God is able to make all grace abound toward you; that ye, always having all sufficiency in all things, may abound to every good work:

Heb 6:10 For God is not unrighteous to forget your work and labour of love, which ye have shewed toward his name, in that ye have ministered to the saints, and do minister.

Which all speaks of fulfilling the royal law found in scripture which is to love one another and how this is manifested through our faith that works by love and how it is not manifested in simply word and tongue but in deed and in truth and loving others as ourselves or better yet as He has loved us. The word and labour is always through love showing love and compassion, and mercy towards others especially the household of God.

Gal 6:10 As we have therefore opportunity, let us do good unto all men, especially unto them who are of the household of faith.

Phil 4:9 Those things, which ye have both learned, and received, and heard, and seen in me, do: and the God of peace shall be with you.

Romans 2:7 To them who by patient continuance in well doing seek for glory and honour and immortality, eternal life:

Romans 2:8 But unto them that are contentious, and do not obey the truth, but obey unrighteousness, indignation and wrath,

Romans 2:9 Tribulation and anguish, upon every soul of man that doeth evil, of the Jew first, and also of the Gentile;

Romans 2:10 But glory, honour, and peace, to every man that worketh good, to the Jew first, and also to the Gentile:

Romans 2:11 For there is no respect of persons with God.

1Peter 1:17 And if ye call on the Father, who without respect of persons judgeth according to every man’s work, pass the time of your sojourning here in fear

1Peter 1:22 Seeing ye have purified your souls in obeying the truth through the Spirit unto unfeigned love of the brethren, see that ye love one another with a pure heart fervently:

So we are to love one another and if we see a brother or sister in need and do nothing having in our possession that which is needful for them, the question concerns the sincerity of our faith (which works by love) but lacks the deeds by the which James says, I will show you my faith by what I do and appears to speak in accord with Jesus “When I was naked”…. ye did for me, he also says, “If you see a brother or sister naked and do nothing can such a faith save you?” whereas Jesus addresses just that, “When I was naked” (they did nothing) whereas the others who saw him naked (in the least of these) clothed him, took him in etc, these were blessed in their deeds (which were not in word only) “saying and doing them not” which is not building our house on a rock, which is the good foundation of hearing his words and doing them.

Thank you, Kim! You are always A BLESSING to me!

Let us not be weary in well doing!

All Blessings in Christ!

Christine

About Christine

My name is Christine and since my favorite past-time, the one that I find the most fulfilling, is studying the scriptures and seeking to know and understand "the deep things of God", I have created this blog as a place to not only post my own bible studies but as a way to connect with others who are are also seeking the Lord and the Truth. I've posted some of my studies on other websites and haven't yet decided if I will post them here, as well, or if I will just post future blogs/studies here. We'll see. Thanks for stopping by and please do so again... maybe after I get something posted. :) ALL BLESSINGS IN CHRIST!!
This entry was posted in Christianity, Religion & Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

