WHOM DO YOU SAY THAT I THE SON OF MAN AM?

Son of Man

When Jesus came into the coasts of Caesarea Philippi, he asked his disciples, saying, Whom do men say that I the Son of man am? And they said, Some say that thou art John the Baptist: some, Elias; and others, Jeremias, or one of the prophets. He saith unto them, But whom say ye that I am? And Simon Peter answered and said, Thou art the Christ, the Son of the living God. And Jesus answered and said unto him, Blessed art thou, Simon Barjona: for flesh and blood hath not revealed it unto thee, but my Father which is in heaven. And I say also unto thee, That thou art Peter, and upon this rock I will build my church; and the gates of hell shall not prevail against it. And I will give unto thee the keys of the kingdom of heaven: and whatsoever thou shalt bind on earth shall be bound in heaven: and whatsoever thou shalt loose on earth shall be loosed in heaven. (Mat 16:13-19)

What does all of this mean? Obviously Jesus was referring to himself as “the Son of man”, which he did many times. And this “Son of man” is mentioned many times in the OT and it was this confession that got Jesus in trouble with the Jews. They knew exactly who Jesus was claiming to be!

So who is this SON OF MAN? And was Jesus telling Simon Barjona that He was going to build His church on him (Simon, whose name He changed to Peter)? Or does it go deeper than that?

We’re all familiar with the claim that Jesus built the church on Peter. We have probably heard the Protestant argument that it was not Peter, but Peter’s confession of who Jesus was (the Christ, the Son of the living God) that the church was to be built on. But could it go even deeper than that, straight to the heart of THE QUESTION that Jesus asked: “Whom do men say that I the Son of man am?

Again, WHO IS THIS SON OF MAN?

Is it Jesus? I think the answer is YES…. AND NO!

The answer is yes, in the sense that this is clearly a reference to Jesus Christ, the only begotten Son of God. But does it refer to “only Jesus”? No, I don’t believe Jesus is talking about just himself and I think we can get a glimpse of that in Peter’s response:

Thou art the Christ, the Son of the living God!

Clearly these words describe Jesus but how do they relate to THE SON OF MAN?

Once more, WHO IS THE SON OF MAN?

Well, we now know:

THE SON OF MAN = THE CHRIST = THE SON OF THE LIVING GOD

So it can’t be about just this “one man” (Jesus), can it? It is, certainly, about Him; but could it be about the ONE NEW MAN “created” IN CHRIST?

Scripture seems to speak of only two men – two “Adams” – the “first man Adam” who is “of the earth” (who we see in Gen 2) and Christ, the “Last Adam” or “the second man” WHO IS “the Lord from heaven” (who I believe we see in Gen 1, as the man “created in the image of God”). It is THIS MAN who God calls “very good”, it is THIS MAN who God gives dominion over the earth, it is THIS MAN who God tells to “be fruitful and multiply” (not the man in Gen 2 whom God “formed out of the dust of the ground”).

When we think of “Christ” (the Son of God, the Son of man) we think of Jesus. But Jesus said: “Foxes have holes, and birds of the air have nests; but the Son of man hath not where to lay his head.” (Luke 9:58) However, Heb 10:5 speaks of A BODY that was prepared. This speaks to “the body of Christ”, which is the church, and it is ONE BODY, joined by ONE SPIRIT (the spirit OF CHRIST), with ONE HEAD (CHRIST, whose head is God). Seems to me that THIS IS THE SON OF MAN!! And it is “the Son of man” because it is A MAN (CHRIST) “birthed” IN MAN “by” THE POWER OF GOD (of whom Jesus Christ is THE FIGURE, THE MANIFESTATION, THE REVELATION).

Just as Jesus was “born of a woman” so is THE SON OF MAN “born of a woman” (THE BRIDE OF CHRIST = THE CHURCH). I believe that Paul speaks of this when he speaks of being “a child” and becoming “a man”. He speaks of “travailing in birth” AGAIN with those whom he called “my little children” as he waits for CHRIST “to be formed” IN THEM (= CHRIST IN YOU, THE HOPE OF GLORY).

The WOMAN gives birth “and HER CHILD was caught up unto God, and to his throne”. This is what I believe Paul was talking about when he said; “But I suffer not a woman to teach, nor to usurp authority over the man, but to be in silence. For Adam was first formed, then Eve. And Adam was not deceived, but the woman being deceived was in the transgression. Notwithstanding SHE SHALL BE SAVED IN CHILDBEARING, if they continue in faith and charity and holiness with sobriety.” (1Ti 2:12-15)

This “woman” (EVE) is THE CHURCH (male AND female) and she is birthing A SON (A MAN) INTO THE WORLD…. THE SON OF GOD.

This is the same thing that Jesus was talking about when he told his disciples that they (all MEN, according to the flesh – but THE BRIDE OF CHRIST, according to the Spirit) would be “as A WOMAN whose hour is come TO BE DELIVERED OF THE CHILD” (and their SORROW would be TURNED INTO JOY that A MAN was born into the world).

Paul wrote: “For God, who commanded the light to shine out of darkness, hath shined in our hearts, to give the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Jesus Christ.” (2Co 4:6)

Seems to me that Jesus Christ is called “the ONLY begotten Son of God” because God has ONLY ONE SON – ONE MAN – ONE HEAD, ONE BODY (many members). This has to be why Paul could say that ALL MEN were “crucified with Christ”.

It is the spirit of Christ IN MAN that makes us ONE MAN who is both THE SON OF MAN and THE SON OF GOD (Christ Jesus for there is NONE OTHER NAME under heaven given among men, whereby we must be saved”).

SO AMAZING!!!! GOD IS SOOOOO GOOD!!!!

I can’t even imagine why people throw away their bibles, you can’t make this stuff up!!

This is THE WORD OF GOD!

The testimony of THE FATHER concerning HIS SON!!!

Think about it!! God called Isaac, who was a figure of Christ, Abraham’s ONLY SON!!

Isaac was not Abraham’s “only child”, but God said he was his ONLY SON. Why?

God promised Abraham (AN OLD MAN) A SON!! (Do you see the picture??)

A SON was GIVEN to Abraham IN HIS OLD AGE (“at the set time”)

And Abraham was an hundred years old, when his son Isaac was born unto him. (Gen 21:5)

Check out this short study on:

There shall be NO MORE thence an infant of days, nor an OLD MAN that hath not FILLED HIS DAYS: for THE CHILD shall DIE an HUNDRED YEARS OLD; but the sinner being an hundred years old shall be “accursed”. (Isaiah 65:20)

We could just keep turning these things over and over, but it’s ALL about “Jesus Christ, the only begotten Son of God”.

Then said I, Lo, I come: in the volume of the book it is written of me, (Psa 40:7)

The Law and the Prophets testified of ONE MAN: THE SON OF GOD, JESUS CHRIST, who is THE SON OF MAN, THE CHRIST, THE SON OF THE LIVING GOD!!

AND THIS IS “THE MYSTERY”…. CHRIST “IN YOU”, THE HOPE OF GLORY

For as many as are led by the Spirit of God, they are the sons of God. (Rom 8:14)

So much more could be written on this. I didn’t even touch on Ezekiel here, but this will have to do… for now. 🙂

ALL BLESSING “IN CHRIST”, AMEN!!

Christine

P.S. I almost forgot…. upon this rock I will build my church

That “Rock” IS JESUS CHRIST!!

He is THE FOUNDATION upon which THE CHURCH (HIS BODY) is built!

For other foundation can no man lay than that is laid, which is Jesus Christ. (1Co 3:11)

About Christine

My name is Christine and since my favorite past-time, the one that I find the most fulfilling, is studying the scriptures and seeking to know and understand "the deep things of God", I have created this blog as a place to not only post my own bible studies but as a way to connect with others who are are also seeking the Lord and the Truth. I've posted some of my studies on other websites and haven't yet decided if I will post them here, as well, or if I will just post future blogs/studies here. We'll see. Thanks for stopping by and please do so again... maybe after I get something posted. :) ALL BLESSINGS IN CHRIST!!
This entry was posted in Religion & Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to WHOM DO YOU SAY THAT I THE SON OF MAN AM?

  1. Hee hee hee! I was reading that whole thing thinking ”this” has one paragraph in it that is right on and tells it all, as far as I am concerned. I don’t know why it is so hard to understand. Then at the end, it says “Christine” …..I didn’t realize I was reading you, and I was gonna say, we found somebody else saying it right. Good Word girl.Here is the paragraph I love so much, I’m sharing it on my page………….love, C.

  2. schroera says:

    Thanks for your article. I actually just wrote an article about how Jesus is the Son of God. After reading your article, I would be curious to see what you think about what I wrote. If you have a chance, check it out and let me know. Thanks!
    http://364daysofthanksgiving.com/son-god/

Leave a Reply

